Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

ACHE WFC Presents: Leading a Culture of Safety: A Blueprint for Success Virtual Event

June 15, 2022 @ 11:00 am - 12:30 pm

Lead and Reward a Just Culture and Establish Organizational Behavior Expectations

Medical errors are the third leading cause of death in the United States at 220,000 to 440,000 people dying each year from preventable errors according to the Centers of Disease Control and Prevention. Clinicians and hospital staff face a devastating impact as a result of being involved with a medical error especially in organizations without a support system in place. Moreover, only 64% of staff who responded to the 2016 Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ) Hospital Survey on Patient Safety Culture’s hospital comparative database felt that reported mistakes led to positive changes. To help healthcare leaders achieve total system safety across the continuum, ACHE, and the Institute for Healthcare Improvement/National Patient Safety Foundation Lucian Leape Institute developed a guide “Leading a Culture of Safety: A Blueprint for Success”. This Blueprint is designed to help leaders shape, create and sustain the type of organizational culture needed to ensure patient and workforce safety and inspire healthcare leaders on the journey to zero harm.


11:00 -11:15 – Event & speaker introduction

11:15 -12:15 – Speakers Present

12:15 – 12:30 – Speaker Q & A

Virtual Face-to-Face Credit Hours: 1.5

To register, use the following link: https://www.eventbrite.com/e/323558390857

** Upon Eventbrite Ticket Purchase, you will be directed to ACHE National’s website to COMPLETE your Registration. Please check your spam/junk folders.**
**This is a VIRTUAL event. If you purchased your Eventbrite ticket & completed your registration with the link provided to you for ACHE National, you received a Zoom link in your e-mail. Please check your spam/junk folders. The e-mail is from Blue Sky or ACHE itself. Passcode is ACHE for the event with your unique Zoom link. You must fully attend the event and complete the evaluation on ACHE.org in order to receive F2F credit.**

Panel Members

Dr. Laura Arline , Vice President/Chief Quality Officer, BayCare Health System

Dr. Laura Arline is Vice President/Chief Quality Officer of BayCare Health System, a large healthcare system located in the Tampa Bay region of Florida. Dr. Arline oversees BayCare’s Quality, Safety, Regulatory, Infection Prevention & Control, and Clinical Documentation Integrity programs. She has been a part of the BayCare Health System team for 16 years, practicing internal medicine and pediatrics until she transitioned into a full-time quality administrative role in 2018. Dr. Arline has a passion for clinical excellence and is a strong believer in the quest toward zero harm. She emphasizes, “Behind every number on a spreadsheet or graph is a patient life – the work we do every day supports BayCare’s true north of Clinical Excellence.”

Nicole Justice, MSJ, Senior Director of Patient Safety, Tampa General Hospital

Safety professional with more than 15 years progressive health care and leadership experience, expansive regulatory expertise and a demonstrated ability to deliver results in a fast-paced, dynamic environment, advance strategic goals, and improve and sustain performance and outcomes for a large, complex health care organization. Charged with administering safety event response with a focus on reliability and collaborative just culture to effectuate the delivery of safe, reliable and effective care.

Kristen (Keller) Rasmussen, System Director Patient Safety & Quality Improvement, Lee Health

Current Employment: Lee Health System (formerly Lee Memorial Health System) since 2012. Previous Professional Experience: Patient Safety and Quality Improvement leadership; Administrative Acute Supervision; Frontline staff management and employee engagement; Emergency Services nursing and leadership; Cardiac/Medical/Neuro Intensive Care nursing; Facility Rapid Response Team nursing; Neonatal Intensive Care nursing. Professional Memberships: Sigma Theta Tau, Emergency Nurses’ Association, AONL. Recent Accomplishments: Lourdes Patient Education Award; Poster Presentation at 2018 Francine Gomberg Nursing Research and EBP. Conference: Poster Presentation at the 2018 FPQC Annual Conference; Published author in JEN 2018: Recipient of IHI Patient Safety Executive Program Scholarship.


June 15, 2022
11:00 am - 12:30 pm
Event Category: